Hip slide and rotation during transition

Home Forums Ben Hogan’s Golf Swing Hip slide and rotation during transition

This topic contains 6 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Rick Stevens 3 months, 3 weeks ago.

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Andy K
    Participant

I’m new to the forum so a quick introduction first. I’m 35, been playing golf since I was 8 and until recently lived in New York City. I sold my company last year to take some time off and I’ve been working on my golf swing for the last five months, spending about 10-12 hours a week on the driving range. Myswinvevolution’s videos on YouTube and The Hogan Code constitute a large part of my self-instruction.

I wanted to start a discussion about hip slide and rotation. I’ve found that just rotating your lower body first and then your upper body doesn’t necessarily move the center of gravity forward far enough. Sliding the hips, even a little, moves the CoG while creating room “behind” me and helping to automatically drop my right elbow into what feels like a slot. Here’s a video of me talking about it:

I looked at a lot of Hogan swings and as far as I can tell he slides a lot. Yes, he rotates his hips, but only after he’s slid a bit and hips continue to move laterally toward the target as he rotates. You can see it on Youtube here:

So my first question is — is hip slide required/ok during the transition? If yes, when does it happen? Does it happen independently of rotation? How much of it should one do? ….

My second question is — how much hip rotation is too much? I compared my positions to Hogan’s and Christo’s and my hips seem to rotate more than theirs in the transition (while keeping the upper body back like they do). Is that bad? Do I need to slow them down?

• This topic was modified 1 year, 3 months ago by  Andy K.

Andy K
    Participant